Fabric Shopping

Yesterday was a fun day.  I went shopping for fabric to use for ladies’ clothing.  This was a real challenge and a lot of fun. . .

It was a challenge because it has been a long time since I have shopped for fabric to use for adult clothing.  I kept finding myself drifting to princesses, bright colors, characters or other fabric designed for children.  I had to keep telling myself, “This is not appropriate for adults.”

I finally got used to looking at the fabric that was not designed for children and found some really nice prints. 

Look at this gorgeous oriental floral on a black background.  The flowers are outlined in gold.  I love this and think it will make a fantastic dress.

oriental.jpg

This brown with beige detailing is very versatile and the beige fabric with brown fish and crosses looks really cute with it.  I am not sure if I will make a skirt and blouse or dress and jacket but either will look nice.

brown.jpg

Now, I have loved this fabric since I first laid eyes on it.  It has a very dark blue background with gorgeous white and light blue/grey flowers.  This fabric is just beautiful and will make a great dress or suit.

navy.jpg

Music, music, music-wouldn’t this make a fantastic outfit for a music teacher!!  Both fabrics are highlighted with gold specks and they look great together.

music.jpg

This purple piece has flowers in various shades of pink.  The purple is rich and vibrant and it also has golden highlights.  I am thinking of a dress with princess seams for this piece.

purple.jpg

It should be even more fun deciding on a specific design for each of these fabrics so check my store where the finished products will be available soon.

2 Responses to Fabric Shopping

  1. louisianalurker says:

    Patti, Do you sew for adult women also?

  2. pattisoriginals says:

    Yes, I do. I have sewn for my daughter-in-law and myself for many years and I have offered culottes for everyone in my store.

    I am just beginning to branch out-wait-I will do tomorrow’s blog on my newest, upcoming items.

    Patti

Leave a Reply

