To Nap or Not to Nap

I have been sewing  for my granddaughters for most of their lives and I usually get their hand-me-downs to resell.  Recently I noticed that all of my oldest granddaughter’s jumpers and dresses were being snatched right up. 

Now these articles are all made for a plus-sized child.  It  occurred to me that there may be a market for modest clothing for plus-sized, pre-teens and teens.  With that in mind I began working on some items to put in my store that would fit that description. . .

The first item I made was a corduroy, side buttoned jumper and I was so pleased to show my hubby when he got home, because it really came out cute.  Imagine my surprise when the next morning I went to mark it for the hem and I discovered it was 2 different colors!!!! UGH!!!!

Most people know that corduroy has a nap (the part of the fabric that stands up).  When cutting out a pattern on fabric with a nap it is important that the top always faces the same direction or you will end up with an outfit of 2 different colors.   That was my problem – ignoring the nap (and I thought I had been soooo careful).

So today I started my day having to rip out my work from yesterday and turning the skirt around.  I was so thankful that this dress has a straight skirt or it would have been a total loss.  The jumper turned out so cute and now it is all the same color. 

Maybe next time I will be more careful!!Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

2 Responses to To Nap or Not to Nap

  1. plwalker says:

    I prefer a nap myself. I could use one now as a matter of fact. 😉

  2. pattisoriginals says:

    I agree but I really was referring to a different type of nap!!

Leave a Reply

