Diet Time

Most people start their diets in January or early spring so they will be in shape for swimsuit season.  Since I don’t do swimsuits that is not an issue for me.  However, the impetus for getting me started is that I have gained 20 pounds in the last year.  So it is time to bite the bullet and get started. . .

I would love to lose all 20 pounds but the older you get the harder it is to lose weight, so I may have to settle for less. 

I am very blessed in one way that makes dieting much easier than for most people, my husband.  He is not at all picky about what I feed him and he is not a big meat eater.  Plus he will always go on a diet with me.  Preparing meals which are healthy and yet low in calories is much easier if you don’t have to use a lot of meat.

When we diet we usually try to keep our calories under 1,000 a day.  On a good day we can keep it to 1,000 calories but if we go over (as long as we don’t really blow it) we will still be at an acceptable level.

Our diet plan is pretty simple.  We eat either toast (high fiber, low calorie bread) or cereal bars for breakfast.  For lunch we either have yogurt and a little Fiber One cereal or a sandwich with high fiber, low cal bread and low calorie sandwich meat.  Dinner is either stir fry, soup, sandwich or fat free hot dogs.  I try to keep it easy so if I am busy I don’t have a lot of cooking to do.

Well, that is the plan-I will check in and keep you updated on my progress.

Leave a Reply

