Out of the Mouths of Babes

Art Linkletter wrote a book called “Kids Say the Darndest Things.”  It’s a collection of the cute things that come out of our children’s mouths, and sometimes those cute things are quite embarrassing for the parents.  Things have not changed much since the 1950’s when this book was written, kids still say the funniest things. . .

My grandkids love to get letters in the mail but, if you want to receive letters, you must write letters.  So every once in awhile I will get a letter from them.  Usually Caleb, 9 years old, is the letter writer.  Today I got letters from Caleb and Lauren, (our 8 year old).

Before I tell you about the letters, I need to say that we have not yet celebrated Christmas with our grandkids.  My husband missed a lot of work last year due to his heart surgery, so he didn’t take any time off. On the other side of the family, my son started a new job so he couldn’t take time off.  In a few weeks both of my grandsons will have a birthday and we will travel to SC for that and celebrate Christmas while we are there.

Now for the letters.  Caleb wrote asking about our Christmas.  He told me he had cleaned his room and it really looks good.  He also told me he would be back in school when I received his letter.  Then it was time for bed and he had to go.

Lauren’s letter is a classic.  She writes, “Hi, I can’t wate (s) to see you as you have a presen (s) for me.”  It’s nice to know she can’t wait to receive her present, oh yes!, and see her grandparents too!  Lauren is our little diva!!

Art Linkletter had it right, kids do say the darndest things.

Leave a Reply

