Feeding a Crowd

My son and his family are coming to visit and they will be here for about 10 days.  Instead of feeding the 2 of us, I will be feeding 8 people everyday.  So I have been on the lookout for good recipes, that feed a lot of people, for a little amount of money. 

This presents quite a challenge but there are always the old faithful large crowd pleasers-red beans, chili, and spaghetti.  Then the kids love hamburgers and hot dogs so that takes care of half the days-now for the rest of the time.

The first recipe I found was something given to us by a former church member.  It is called Chicken Broccoli Casserole and even my grandson who does not like broccoli fell in love with it.

chickbroc.jpg

Having lived in Texas for a few years this next one is a classic, King Ranch Chicken.  There are more variations of this recipe than I could ever cover but I will share a few. Traditionally it is an enchillada casserole using tortillas, Rotel, and cheese.

 The first recipe I came across is from Cooks.com  This one uses tortilla chips instead of the traditional soft tortillas.  I never tried it this way but it sounds good.

This recipe is very similar to the one I use.  I don’t use the butter so this one may be richer than mine.

This is the version I use and it is so good-a guaranteed crowd pleaser!!

And for those days when we are out running around and I don’t have much time or energy left for cooking I will use this old favorite.

pot.jpg

I will have to double this and add a side dish but it is sure to be a hit with my crew!

I am so looking forward to having our family with us for this time that I don’t even mind all the cooking!!

Leave a Reply

