Feminine Horseback Riding

One of my granddaughters, Lydia, is crazy about horses-anything horses.  Her room is decorated with horses.  Her blanket, throw pillows and comforter have horses on them.  She has culottes and skirts with horses.  I even found an Ebay auction for 7 shirts with horses on them that were her size!!  She loves horses.

For Christmas my son and his wife gave Lydia horseback riding lessons.  She was ecstatic! 

When she went to her first lesson she wore culottes and quickly discovered they would not work.  When she sat on the horse the culottes rode up and her legs rubbed on the saddle-not a good idea.

This is where I came in-she needed an alternative.  I made her a pair of long culottes that were not quite as baggy as she usually wears-similar to the split skirts the cowgirls wore.  This worked okay but it was a lot of material and pretty heavy on her legs.

Then I decided to try to make her some jodhpurs.  Basically jodhpurs are pants that are tight around the calf and blouse out above the knee up to the waist.  We did not want to buy them because first, they are expensive and second they were not loose enough around the seat.

Of course, there is no such thing as a pattern for these so I had to improvise.  I used a pajama pant pattern so the top would be loose and I tapered the legs down so they would be snug on the lower leg.  To my surprise this worked!!  The only problem was the seat of the pants needed to be longer so when she leaned forward on the horse her pants would not pull down.

So I made her a second pair and just added a couple inches to the length of the seat and this worked perfectly.

To quote a tv show from the 80’s-“I love it when a plan comes together!”

Leave a Reply

