Petticoats Times Two

Business has finally started to pick up-in the last week I have sold a Little House on the Prairie dress complete with bloomers.


The special needs outfits for. . .

Harry that I wrote about similar to these.

And an order for 2 styles of petticoat dresses.

So when we returned from our trip I really had to get busy.  I saved the outfits for Harry until last because they will be the most time consuming.  The pioneer dress and bloomers just had to  be shortened-so that was a quick fix, and they will be mailed out today.

The petticoat dress with the collar is for a little sweetie in South Carolina and I had one already in her size.  The sleeveless petticoat in my inventory was too small for this child so I had to make a new one.

A lot of patterns do not line the yoke on dresses and petticoats.  I don’t like this feature as I feel that a lined yoke looks more professional and gives added durability to the outfit.  So I start with the yoke pattern provided…

Then I fold under the facing leaving a 5/8″ seam allowance.

I then cut out 4 (2 for the petticoat and 2 for the lining) of these for the back of the petticoat.  I use the front that comes with the pattern and cut out 2 (1 for the petticoat and 1 for the lining..  Sew the shoulder seams of the front and back together for the petticoat and lining.  Place right sides together and sew the center back seam only.  Turn right side out and press.

Stitch 5/8″ from the edge all around the neckline.  This will be a guideline for placing the lace.

Lay the lace along this guideline (folding raw ends up).

Slowly stitch the lace in place making sure it lays on top of the guideline.

Set up the serger for a 3 thread stitch.  Very carefully serge the edge of the lace to the neckline cutting off the excess.  If you do not have a serger-trim the seam closely and zigzag stitch the raw edge.

Press the lace up and the seam down on the inside.  Topstitch very close to the edge where the fabric meets the lace.

The finished neckline is sweetly feminine with a soft lace that stands up perfectly.

I attached the skirts and repeated this process around the armhole.  A ruffle around the hem and this petticoat is finished and ready to ship.  I hope this South Carolina sweetie will be happy with her new outfits.

 

Leave a Reply

