Calling All Insomniacs

I can remember when I was young that my parents seemed to fall asleep everytime they sat still.  They went to bed really early and still they never appeared to have trouble sleeping.

As we have gotten older, a good night’s sleep has become a real treat for both my hubby and myself.  We try all sorts of things to help us try to relax and hopefully get a restful sleep.

We have heard that lavender is good for helping you relax. . .so we have lavender potpourri in our bedroom.  Pillows are very important, so we made sure to get pillows that are comfortable to us and we bring them with us whenever we travel. 

Another trick we heard was to download relaxing music and listen to it when you are trying to go to sleep.  We tried this but I tend to lay awake waiting for the music to go off-so we had to quit the music.  We keep the house cool so it is more comfortable for sleeping.

My brother and sister-in-law gave us a Tempurpedic mattress and we love it.  This mattress has helped a lot and it really works just as advertised-when your partner rolls over, you do not feel it.  This has helped us stay asleep but the problem that I have is falling asleep.

I like the room dark when I am trying to fall asleep.  Now we live in the woods-and it is dark here at night.  It is so dark that we have to have nightlights all around the house, so if we wake up in the night we don’t trip over anything.  The nightlights are my problem.  Even though they are not very bright they still were causing me a problem.  So I decided to make myself a sleep mask.

I did a little research to see what shape I should make it and found tons of them for sale.  This is the pattern I drew to use.

I wanted some cute material and decided to use giraffe flannel for one side and pink fleece for the other. 

I wasn’t sure if I wanted the elastic to wrap around my ears or to go around my head, so I made a loop with it and put it around my ear.  I did not like the way it felt and I doubt if it would stay on all night.  I decided to make the elastic go around my head.

Here is the finished product and I have to say it works great.

So, now it is dark and quiet and cool-hopefully I will be able to sleep better tonight.

One Response to Calling All Insomniacs

  1. sarahdoyle says:

    Hey, I have a GREAT idea for a good nights’ sleep. Come over sometime and run a few hundred miles after these quads and their big brother. I’ll tell you – when we’ve kept them for a day, or for an overnight stay, we can’t WAIT to hit the bed that night!!

Leave a Reply

