How I Spent Today

Today I spent the day trying to put my home back in order after finally getting rid of the ants.  What a job!  This is the mess I woke up to this morning.

The pantry and cabinets were emptied last week and all weekend we lived with this mess in the dining room and the kitchen was off-limits.

I think the hardest part of a job like this is deciding where to start.  First, I washed the few dishes so the sink would be empty.  Then I cleaned all the counters and shelves with disinfectant, that was the easy part.

Next, came the hard part; deciding how to organize the pantry.  I had not reorganized (cleaned but never reorganized) the pantry since we moved into the house 10 years ago-it was way past time.  So slowly I reloaded all the shelves trying to place things in the most logical space.

Then I moved on to the spice cabinets, over and next to the microwave.  This was easier because I just put everything back where it came from.

It was so nice to vaccuum the dining room, polish the table, and put the decorations back in place.

And the good news is I now have the cleanest kitchen in south Mississippi, at least until I have to fix dinner.  I will enjoy it while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

