A Prairie Schooner

A librarian from Illinois contacted me with a request for a prairie outfit for a girl and a boy.  This librarian and her dad had spent the summer building a full size prairie schooner.  A prairie schooner is a wagon the pioneers used to travel across the prairie.

She wanted the outfits to use as a display on her schooner.

I make little girls prairie outfits all the time but. . .I had not yet done a boy’s outfit. I decided to make a pair of knickers using a pajama pattern. My pajama pattern had the option of being cut as shorts, capri length or long pants. I used the capri length so they would fall below the knee.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I added a band around the bottom and, voila! capris became knickers. Too Cute!!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I told my customer I had never been asked to make a boy’s outfit and I would gladly make the knickers but I could not help her with the shirt. Then I decided to make a prototype of a colonial boy’s shirt and send it with her other items.

This boy’s shirt is all one piece with a dark body and white sleeves and neck scarf.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The main thing I learned from creating this prototype is that the neck scarf needs to be wider and longer, but now I have a general idea of what I would create if I am asked for a boy’s outfit again.

The 2 outfits look very cute together. I hope my customer is pleased with her purchase and her free prototype!!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Leave a Reply

