Deep Pockets

Earlier this year the CPSIA had decided to restrict sales to children of any item not tested for lead.  At that time I was sure my business would be changing direction but I was not sure how. 

Another circumstance caused me to consider a new possibility. 

Our local television station reported a purse snatching in the parking lot at one of our malls.  This caused me to think of how unsafe it is for women to carry a purse. 

When I am out running errands and pushing a shopping cart, fumbling with a grocery list and keys, I am especially vulnerable.  I began searching for some type of purse or bag that would be safer. 

I tried a money belt but it is not comfortable, nor is it convenient when I need to get money out to pay a cashier.

I started wearing only skirts and culottes with pockets and liked the freedom this gave me.  However, when I sat down I was always afraid the items in my pockets would fall out.  The answer seemed logical: Deep Pockets.

I decided to make myself a skirt with pockets that were deeper than normal to see how they worked.  I was so pleased that I decided to make some more.  I now have 4 skirts and 2 pairs of culottes.  I used various waistbands to see what would work the best and actually I like them all for different reasons.

This one is an A-line skirt made from khaki with a zipper in the back and front and back darts.

khaki-skirty

This skirt is made from blue weaver’s cloth.  It also has a zipper in the back and front and back darts.blue-skirt

I also made culottes out of the blue weaver’s cloth.  The waist of these is flat in the front with elastic in the back.  I used buttonhole elastic to make them adjustable but I am not crazy about the way the waist bunches up around the buttons.

blue-culottesThis one is black with an elastic waist in the back and flat waist in the front.  I made the flat part of the waistband extend across the entire front and I used regular elastic.  It looks much nicer.

black-skirt

These culottes are a little darker khaki with an elastic waist in the back and flat in the front.

 

khaki-culottes

This is my favorite skirt.  It is bright red with little white daisies.  The skirt has pleats across the top and a back zipper.  When I finished the skirt was a little too big so I added elastic to the waist-this pulls it in just a little without messing up the pleats.

 red-waist

 

red-skirt1

I just love my deep pocket outfits.  All of these are very comfortable and the pockets are great-wallet and keys in one and cell phone in the other.  I have not worked out all the bugs yet but I am working on them and hope to offer these in my store very soon.

Leave a Reply

