Ladies’ Pioneer Outfit

I was contacted by a customer last week asking if I could make a pioneer or prairie style dress for ladies.  This is something I have been wanting to do for so long but I been so busy making them for girls there just has not been time. 

I sent her photos of 2 different styles I can create for ladies.  The first one …is very similar to the outfits worn by Caroline Ingalls on Little House on the Prairie.

4548

The problem is this dress is fitted and a good fit would be difficult to achieve if the customer is not local and available for fittings.

The second outfit is similar to the one I create for girls.  It is loose-fitting and includes the pinafore and bonnet.

9423

The customer chose the second outfit but she would like the ruffle added over the sleeve, like the girl’s outfits, and a sash so when the dress is worn without the pinafore it will still have a waist.

I am hoping to get started on this outfit later this week and will be back with more photos as I progress but I am very excited to finally have a chance to create a Little House experience for an adult!

Leave a Reply

