Fresh From The Garden

We have been harvesting fresh produce from our garden and I have been planning dinner around whatever is ripe.  We have had an abundance of stir fry squash lately and were ready for a change.

Lots of tomatoes have finally started turning red but not enough to pull out the canner and make homemade tomato sauce, so I started searching my recipes.  Last night I could not wait any longer but had to use the ripe tomatoes.  So we had Homemade Cream of Tomato Soup with a few veggies thrown in for good measure.

First I peeled and seeded the tomatoes and pureed them in the blender.  This took quite a long time but it was worth it.  Then I let the puree simmer while I prepared everything else.

I sauteed 1 1/2 cups of onions, 2 garlic cloves and some celery leaves in 1 Tablespoon of butter until the onions were soft.  I removed this from the pot and put 3 Tablespoons of butter in the pot and added 3Tablespoons of flour, stirring constantly.  Then I whisked in 3/4 cup milk and 3 Tablespoons butter.  I had to keep stirring so no lumps would form but once it was well blended I added the onion mixture and the tomato puree and let it simmer.

While it was simmering I searched for available veggies and added some diced yellow squash.  Fresh herbs from the garden always make things taste better, so I added basil and parsley.  I let it all cook through for a few minutes and served with crackers.

I am always amazed when I throw a few ingredients together and it comes out so great!  We have enough left overs for one more meal and we will enjoy it tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

